First Post

Hello everyone!

I have never written a blog entry before…it’s all so exciting!

I am currently in school for Biblical studies through an online college. Though living at home is saving a lot on my student loans, I have become a kind of hermit. I have never been extroverted, or particularly cared for speaking in front of a group of people consisting of more than three people, and online school has only strengthened my introvertedness.

Recently, I have begun to feel that there is no point in learning if I don’t discuss and speak about what I have learned. I do not want to read a theology book and accept that as the final answer. (The only book I can do that with is the Bible!) I want my perspective to widen and I want to grow deeper in my understanding of who God is. Because of this, I decided it was about time that I start to get involved with other human beings.

As I stated above, I am not a particularly outgoing gal, so I figured speaking or teaching a class at my church wasn’t the answer for this season of my life. I enjoy taking risks, but sometimes my self-esteem gets the better of me. I didn’t know what God wanted me to do, but like the good Father He is, He let me know that He was with me!

After spending some time in prayer, some doors opened up for me. I joined a life group filled with such strong Christian women. We haven’t known each other for very long, but these girls have made such an impact on my life. They are encouraging, God-fearing women who just want people to know about God. They are incredible! I also recently became a leader for middle school girls at my church. I haven’t been there very long, but I have already made a connection to some of the girls. Even though I was frightened to actually do the things I have always wanted to do, God made Himself known to me and lovingly pushed me until me hesitating feet were out the door.

And now I have found myself sitting by candlelight (lamp with no shade), curtains drawn shut, tea by my side, and writing about my life and love for the Father. God has placed a passion for sharing His word within me, and I am just beginning to see how that passion will manifest itself. Will it be teaching? Will it be counseling? Or will it be writing? Only God knows my future but I am excited to see how He will reveal His plans for me!

 

Leave a Reply

