God is Good!

Hey everyone!

Have you ever had one of those days that started out just terrible but ended on an unexpected good note? I have had many of those…and today was one! Lately, I have been in a kind of rut, I do not know where to go or what to do next. I just feel like I am not doing enough with the knowledge God has given me through my studies and as every day goes on, I feel worse. Today was just like any other day, I went to bed at a normal time (though some may think it was still too late…) and slept for an uneasy ten or so hours. When I woke up, I felt like my day had been wasted and as the afternoon went on, I was left alone with my thoughts. Anyone with anxiety knows that this can have a very bad affect! Even though I know that the negative thoughts I was thinking were not true, I couldn’t shake them. So all in all, my day was kind of a drag and nothing seemed to feel right. But then, my mom came in and asked if I wanted to start our study on Revelations a day early. I agreed and we went to the perfect meeting place…Panera! We ended up talking about God, our experiences with the Holy Spirit, and the perfect love of Jesus Christ for over two hours. Talk about a pick me up! This got me thinking…

How powerful is God that by simply speaking His name, our spirits can be lifted? His name is so good and so pure that just the mention of Him, all anxiety or worry or sadness can be washed away. Psalms 31:19 says, “oh, how abundant is your goodness, which you have stored up for those who fear you and worked for those who take refuge in you, in the sight of the children of mankind!” If we seek God in times of need, no matter how small that need may feel, He will fill us with His goodness. Seeking Him means that we recognize our human depravity and dependence on God to be the Healer and Savior. This experience reminded me of just how relentless God is in showing us His love. While we are easily caught up in the day-to-day, God does not fail. Our first response when we feel pain, loneliness, sin, etc. should be to go to God and meditate on the word, but we will most likely try to figure it out by any other means necessary. We must remember that Lord is at hand for He will not forsake us! It may sound redundant, but I can’t help but exclaim…GOD IS GOOD!

Thank you for all who read this! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

